Coronavirus Response Update
School facilities at 250 Joralemon St. and 111 Livingston St. are closed until further notice. Read more.
CUBE logo


The 7th Annual Stanley M. Grossman Innovators Invitational at the Center for Urban Business Entrepreneurship (CUBE) proceeded as a remote, online event. Fourteen teams of law students from Albany Law School, Brooklyn Law School, Cornell Law School, Cornell Tech and Columbia Law School pitched their legal technology startups to an esteemed panel of judges to compete for $12,000 in prize money to launch their ventures. The First Place winner received The Manne Prize (in honor of Bob & Grace Manne) totaling $6,000 to launch their venture.

Congratulations to our winners!

First Place ($6,000) — Winners of the Manne Prize

Columbia Law School
Refugee and Asylee Legal Assistance Suite

Team Members: Andrew Savage, Emrah Tanyildizi, Ece Yagci
Project description: A digestible interface and automated form seeking to simplify and assist refugees and asylees in completing immigration paperwork.

Second Place ($4,000)

Albany Law School
The H.A.R.M. Calculator

Team Member: Jordan Fruchter
Project description: This program is designed to provide low income tenants living in uninhabitable conditions meaningful access to the justice system.

Third Place ($2,000)

Brooklyn Law School

Team Member: Kiana Smith ’21
Project description: This application seeks to provide safe and reliable assistance for victims of domestic violence in real time through discreet notifications to emergency services in addition to the user’s emergency contacts.

Honorable Mention

Martin E. Connor, Jr. ’20
TIPPs - The Intuitive Payroll Processors, Brooklyn Law School

Tiyani Majoko, Maxwell Claus Wulff, Jackson Blume
LexGraft, Cornell Tech


We are honored to have outstanding leaders in law and technology serve as judges. Each entry was scored for concision, effectiveness, ambition, innovation, competence, and student/team presentation. Judges included:

Stanley M. Grossman ’67, Senior Counsel & former Managing Partner at Pomerantz LLP
Bob Manne ’77, Senior Vice President and General Counsel at Ultimate Software Group
Christopher Doyle, Partner at Stroock, Stroock & Lavan LLP
Lawrence Eliot Howard ’93, Sr. Science & Technology Studies Lecturer at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
D. K. Smith, Managing Director of the Brooklyn Innovation Center; CMO and Co-Founder of; Founder of Food Tech Brooklyn
Andrea Markstrom, Chief Information Officer at Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP; Founder/CEO at i.WILL (Inspiring Women Igniting Leadership & Learning)
Michael Hassin, Chief Technology Officer & Cofounder of
Leo Kittay ’08, Partner at Fross Zelnick
Kevin Mulcahy, VP of Education & Community Programs at Neota Logic
Dave Ugelow ’11, VP of Legal & Business Affairs, Group Nine Media
Julian Yap, Founder at Serial Box Publishing

Leadership Team

Brooklyn Law School is thankful to the Innovators Invitational Leadership Team:

John Rudikoff
Adjunct Professor of Law

Jonathan Askin
Professor of Clinical Law

Marcelle Little Dawes
J.D. Candidate, Class of 2021


The Stanley M. Grossman Innovators Invitational at CUBE would not have been possible without the vision, generosity and faith of our sponsors. These include:
  • Stanley and Nancy Grossman Family Foundation
  • Bob and Grace Manne Family Foundation
  • Stroock, Stroock & Lavan LLP
Stroock Logo