COVID-19 Response Update
To learn more about policies, procedures, and updates for the Brooklyn Law School community, visit COVID-19 Information.

Real-world experience in the classroom

Our legal writing faculty collectively share strong academic records and a vast range of legal practice experience from BigLaw to public interest and pro bono work. Members of the faculty have held prominent federal and state judicial clerkships. Two legal writing professors are Fulbright scholars, and one is a former national security analyst for the Central Intelligence Agency and a former liaison to the FBI’s Joint Terrorism Task Force in New York City.

Many faculty members have taught internationally or served as Brooklyn Law School ambassadors overseas, in locations such as Italy and India (and collectively have language skills in Arabic, French, Italian, and Hindi). The legal writing faculty enjoys writing in non-legal genres as well, to master storytelling and narrative techniques. The Director of the Program has published seven books.

Leadership

Professor Heidi K. Brown
Professor Brown is the Director of the Legal Writing Program. She was a litigator for many years, resolving disputes between key players in the construction industry nationwide, such as developers, owners, contractors, architects, engineers, and subcontractors. Professor Brown won the 2014 Global Legal Skills Award for “excellence in the advancement of global legal skills education around the world,” and has authored The Mindful Legal Writer: Mastering Predictive and Persuasive Writing (2016), and Fundamentals of Federal Litigation, a federal civil procedure treatise. Her more recent books, The Introverted Lawyer (2017), Untangling Fear in Lawyering (2019), and The Flourishing Lawyer: A Multi-Dimensional Approach to Performance and Well-Being (2022), focus on helping introverted, quiet, shy, or socially anxious law students amplify their voices authentically.

Affiliated Faculty

NAME & TITLE E-Mail
Alissa Bauer Alissa Bauer
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
alissa.bauer@brooklaw.edu
Heidi Brown Heidi K. Brown
Director of Legal Writing and Professor of Law
heidi.brown@brooklaw.edu
DuBois Catharine Photo Catharine Du Bois
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
catharine.dubois@brooklaw.edu
Gilchrist Heidi Photo Heidi Gilchrist
Associate Professor of Legal Writing
heidi.gilchrist@brooklaw.edu
Meg Holzer Meg Holzer
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
meg.holzer@brooklaw.edu
Brooklyn Law School Diana Hortsch
Visiting Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
diana.hortsch@brooklaw.edu
Louis Jim Louis Jim
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
louis.jim@brooklaw.edu
Kanwar Joy Photo Joy Kanwar
Associate Professor of Legal Writing
joy.kanwar@brooklaw.edu
BLS Logo Gabrielle Marshall
Visiting Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
gabrielle.marshall@brooklaw.edu
Alberto Rodriguez Alberto Rodriguez
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
alberto.rodriguez @brooklaw.edu
Irene Ten Cate Irene Ten Cate
Associate Director of the Block Center for International Business Law and Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
irene.tencate@brooklaw.edu
Termini Maria Photo Maria Termini
Associate Professor of Legal Writing
maria.termini@brooklaw.edu
Danielle Tully Danielle Tully
Associate Professor of Legal Writing
danielle.tully@brooklaw.edu
BLS Logo Jeremy M. Weintraub
Visiting Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
jeremy.weintraub@brooklaw.edu