Coronavirus Response Update
School facilities at 250 Joralemon St. and 111 Livingston St. are closed until further notice. Read more.

Professor David Reiss Elected to Membership in American Law Institute


Professor David Reiss, an expert in Real Estate Finance and Consumer Finance Law and founding director of the Law School’s Community Development Clinic, has been elected to membership in the American Law Institute (ALI), the leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law.

The Institute—composed of 2,900 lawyers, judges, and law professors from across the United States and around the world—drafts, discusses, revises, and publishes Restatements of the Law, model statutes, and principles of law that are influential in the courts and legislatures, as well as in legal scholarship and education. ALI membership is gained only through election by existing ALI members and is limited to 3,000 individuals (excluding life, honorary, and ex-officio members).

“I am honored to be elected to the membership of the ALI, and I look forward to participating in their important work of improving the law,” said Reiss.

Fellow of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers, Reiss serves as Academic Programs Director of the Center for Urban Business Entrepreneurship (CUBE). He is a frequently quoted expert on legal developments in the real estate finance sector and has written a regular column for The Hill. His popular blog, REFinBlog, offers a roundup of developments in the law and practices related to the real estate finance industry. He is the author of the forthcoming book, Paying for the American Dream: How to Reform the Market for Mortgages (Oxford University Press, 2019). Recently, Reiss was appointed Chair of the New York City Rent Guidelines Board.

Other ALI members from the Law School faculty include Dean Michael T. Cahill; Professors William D. Araiza, Miriam H. Baer, Anita Bernstein, Dana Brakman Reiser, I. Bennett Capers, Neil B. Cohen, James A. Fanto, Edward J. Janger, Beryl R. Jones-Woodin, Roberta S. Karmel, Brian A. Lee, Samuel K. Murumba, Alice Ristroph, Elizabeth M. Schneider, Winnie F. Taylor, and Aaron D. Twerski; and Professors Emeriti Marsha Garrison, William E. Hellerstein, Norman S. Poser, and Joan G. Wexler, dean and president emerita.