1. YEAR
  2. 2018
  3. 2017
  4. 2016
  5. 2015
  6. 2014
  7. 2013
  8. 2012
  9. 2011
  10. 2010
  11. 2009
  • « Back
    03.18.11 Enthusiastic Crowd at Fifth Annual Sara Robbins Spelling Bee Raises Money for Memorial Scholarship
    Spelling Bee

    On February 17, students, faculty, and members of the BLS community gathered in the Subotnick Center for the fifth annual Sara Robbins Spelling Bee. Hosted by BARBRI and the SBA, proceeds from the event go towards the Sara Robbins Memorial Scholarship. The energetic audience of more than 150 people, who filled seats and crowded standing room areas, cheered on the 44 spellers and heckled the three mischievous judges—Associate Dean Michael Cahill and Professors Chris Serkin and Nelson Tebbe.

    Professor Harold O’Grady opened the competition by speaking about Sara Robbins, the late Director of the Brooklyn Law School library for over two decades. He extended an especially warm welcome to Kay Ehrenkrantz, Anne Robbins, and Marlene Robbins—Professor Robbins’ three sisters who were attending the annual event for the first time.

    The spelling bee was lively and playful, with contestants prompting the judges for humorous uses of their words in a sentence and judges periodically pausing the action for drink refills. Following last year’s theme of words related to Dean Cahill’s sabbatical, this year’s theme included words related to his recent deanship, which began in the fall of 2010. The words ranged from logical—“hierarchy” and “curriculum”—to the more tongue-in-cheek—“omnipotent” and “lobotomy.”

    After hours of competition, Professor Susan Herman won with the word “catarrh.” Sporting her first place medal from a previous competition, Professor Herman was the spelling bee’s first two-time winner. She was followed by Sagar Dalal ’12 in second place and Professors Ted Janger and Brian Lee tied for third place.

    This year’s spelling bee was the most successful to date—with more than $2600 raised from the proceeds of the ticket sales and silent auction donations.