1. YEAR
  2. 2018
  3. 2017
  4. 2016
  5. 2015
  6. 2014
  7. 2013
  8. 2012
  9. 2011
  10. 2010
  11. 2009
  • « Back
    03.14.11 Moot Court Teams Having a Strong Season with Multiple Awards
    Moot Court

    While the moot court season is still underway, Brooklyn Law School is having a strong showing in competitions, already winning many awards. In fact, recently ranked the Law School’s Appellate Division Sixth Best in the nation for 2010. Out of over 30 competitions nationwide, students won individual awards for outstanding appellate and trial advocacy, and teams won competitions, advancing to quarter-final, semi-final, and final rounds.

    Our success would not be possible without such strong support from the faculty,” said Christopher Casa ’11, President of the Moot Court Honor Society. “We are thankful to all of the faculty members who attended our practices and helped our competitors develop their arguments.” Below are some of the Moot Court Honor Society’s 2010 highlights.

    Jacqueline Conahan ‘12 and Laura Richenderfer ’12, coached by Robert Witherwax ’11, won First Place at the Domenick L. Gabrielli National Family Law Competition.

    Shawn Clark ‘12, Hannah Roth ‘12, Kalish Bell ‘12, Gleennia Napper ‘12, coached by Carolyn Davis ’11 and Daria Licausi ’11, won First Place for the New York Region at the ABA Labor and Employment Trial Competition.

    Mathew Vince ‘11, Robert Witherwax ‘11, and Sarah Young ‘11, coached by Christopher Casa ’11 and Christopher Repole, ’11, were Semi-Finalists for the New York Region at the New York City Bar National Moot Court Competition.

    An Duong ‘12, Julia Kahlig ‘12, Nicole Lauterbach ‘12, and Anotonia Pereira ’12, coached by Joel Bermejo ’11, Amy Hseih ’11, and Randi Scherman ’11, were Semi-Finalists and won Third Best Brief at the Phillip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition. Duong won a Sixth Best Oralist award.

    Merissa Kraham ‘12, Leslie Miller ‘12, and Dana B. Wolfe ’12, coached by Andrea Clisura ’11 and Thomas Ostendorp ’12, were Semi-Finalists at the National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition. Miller and Wolfe won the Best Oralist awards in the preliminary rounds.

    Will Hine-Ramsberger ‘12, Thomas Ostendorp ‘12, and Bowen Ranney ’11, coached by Natalie Mayo ’11, were Semi-Finalists at the Navy JAG Corps Moot Court Competition.

    Lucas Christiansen ‘12, Emily Farquharson ‘12, and Molly McGrath ’12, coached by Carmela Romeo ’11 and Kelly VanDevelde ’11, won Second Best Defense Team at the Allegheny Academy of Trial Lawyers Mock Trial Competition.

    Samuel Lewis ‘11 and Jason Melville ’11, coached by Christopher Hickman ’11 and Christopher Repole ’11, were Quarter Finalists and won Second Best Brief at the Wechsler First Amendment Moot Court Competition.

    Danielle Iredale ‘11, Danielle Moss ‘11, and Benjamin Traverse ’11, coached by Gianna Rey ’11, were Quarter-Finalists for the New York Region at the Texas Young Lawyers Association National Trial Competition.

    View a complete list of winners.

    Read more about the Moot Court Honor Society.

    Read more about the Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition.