1. YEAR
  2. 2018
  3. 2017
  4. 2016
  5. 2015
  6. 2014
  7. 2013
  8. 2012
  9. 2011
  10. 2010
  11. 2009
  • « Back
    04.05.10 Professor Ted Janger Elected to American Law Institute
    Professor Edward Janger

    Ted Janger, the David M. Barse Professor of Law, was elected on March 16, 2010 to The American Law Institute (ALI). The ALI is comprised of 4,200 lawyers, judges, and law professors of the highest qualifications who produce scholarly work to clarify, modernize and improve the law.  ALI products include the various Restatements of the Law and the Uniform Commercial Code.  

    Professor Janger is an expert on commercial transactions and bankruptcy law. He has published extensively in the areas of bankruptcy law, commercial law, consumer credit and data privacy. His work has appeared in many of the leading law reviews. He is the past-chair of the Association of American Law Schools’ Section on Commercial and Consumer Law, and served as consultant to the Business Bankruptcy Subcommittee of the Federal Bankruptcy Rules Advisory Committee. He is also a member of the board of directors of the Coalition for Debtor Education. He has held visiting positions at the Harvard  Law School, where he was the Bruce W. Nichols visiting Professor of Law, and at the University of Pennsylvania Law School. He has also served as the Robert M. Zinman Scholar-in-Residence at the American Bankruptcy Institute.  

    Professor Janger joined the Brooklyn Law School faculty in 1998, after teaching at Washington University School of Law in St. Louis and Ohio State University College of Law. Prior to teaching, he practiced as an associate with the firm of Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering in Washington, D.C., specializing in bankruptcy and litigation, and was a law clerk to Judge Irving L. Goldberg of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. He earned his B.A. degree at Yale College and J.D. at the University of Chicago Law School.

    In addition to Professor Janger, other Brooklyn Law School faculty members who are members of the ALI are: Margaret A. Berger, Anita Bernstein, Dana Brakman Reiser, Neil B. Cohen, Marsha Garrison, William E. Hellerstein, Beryl R. Jones-Woodin, Roberta S. Karmel, Claire R. Kelly, Jason Mazzone, Samuel K. Murumba, Norman S. Poser, Elizabeth M. Schneider, Winnie F. Taylor, Aaron D. Twerski, and Dean Joan G. Wexler.