A Winning Track Record

2015 Thirtieth Annual Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition

The Brooklyn Law School Moot Court Honor Society would like to announce the Thirtieth Annual Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition. Preliminary rounds will begin Thursday, March 26, 2015, and the Competition will conclude with the final round on Saturday, March 28, 2015. We are excited to announce that the Honorable Richard Clifton of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, and the Honorable Edward Korman and Margo Brodie of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of New York will preside over the Final Round.

In this year’s Competition, petitioner John Habib, founder and former president of Zodiac Electronics, stands convicted of the murders of two customers who died when their Zodiac Genius Watches exploded. Before trial, the Government successfully obtained access by subpoena to corporate documents in Habib’s possession, over petitioner’s Fifth Amendment objections. At trial, the Government’s key witness was Zodiac employee William Roberts, who testified that Habib knew that the Genius Watches were dangerous, yet failed to inform the relevant government agency and authorized their release to the general public. Habib unsuccessfully sought to introduce the expert testimony of a psychiatrist on the effect that a psychological disorder from which Roberts suffered might have had on the witness’s capacity for truthfulness. Upon conviction, Habib moved for a new trial, based on information that during deliberations, several jurors had made statements expressing virulent animus toward his presumed Muslim religion. This motion and Habib’s direct appeal were denied, and the Supreme Court has granted certiorari on these issues.

Please click here to view the ProblemTentative Competition ScheduleCompetition Rules, and List of Competing Teams. The briefs will be posted mid-March, and a notification will be sent out once they have been made available.

To view the 2015 Competitors Briefs, click here.

2014 Prince Competition Results

The Honorable William A. Fletcher, the Honorable Edward R. Korman, and the Honorable Jenny Rivera presided over the final round of the Competition, where the University of Georgia Law School came in first place. The award for Best Brief went to Duquesne University School of Law.

Click here to view the final round of the 2014 Prince Competition.

Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition

The Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition is named in honor of the late Jerome Prince, renowned evidence scholar, teacher, and author of Prince on Evidence, who served as Dean of Brooklyn Law School from 1953 to 1971.

The competition is hosted in the spring by the Moot Court Honor Society on Brooklyn Law School's campus in the heart of Brooklyn Heights. The Competition provides law students from across the nation the opportunity to write and argue an appellate brief that addresses evidentiary issues in a contemporary context. Each year, Brooklyn Law School and the Moot Court Honor Society are proud to announce distinguished jurists and judges who join to preside over the competition's final round.

Contact Information

For further questions regarding the Prince Evidence Competition, please contact the Prince Competition Coordinator Kathleen Reilly at prince.competition@brooklaw.edu.

  • Winners of Price Media Law Moot Court International Moot Court Competition
  • Winners of Albany Law School Domenick L. Gabrielli National Family Law Moot Court Competition
  • Winners of Fordham University School of Law Judge Paul Joseph Kelly, Jr. Invitational Trial Competition

Moot Court Honor Society Students Celebrate Their Successful Season

Have questions? We have answers.

Brooklyn Law School
Moot Court Honor Society

250 Joralemon Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Telephone: (718) 780-7970
Fax: (718) 532-2227
Email: moot.court@brooklaw.edu

Documents from Past Prince Competitions
2014 Final Prince Record
2013 Final Prince Record
2012 Final Prince Record
2012 Best Brief
2011 Final Prince Record
2010 Final Prince Record
2009 Best Brief

News about Past Prince Competitions
Read more about the 2014 Prince Competition.
Read more about the 2013 Prince Competition.
Read more about the 2012 Prince Competition.
Read more about the 2011 Prince Competition.
Read more about the 2010 Prince Competition.
Read more about the 2009 Prince Competition.

2014-2015 Moot Court Honor Society

Moot Court Society 2014-2015